top of page
Search
  • Karl

And now our journey begins, but who is the hero of this story?

Hey, I'm Karl: resident hero of No More Than Expected.


Nerdy intro aside, this is the first blog post for New-Media Journalism. I'm taking this class mainly because of my passion for journalism, but I also could never pass on a class taught by Dr. Zeltner. While I have experienced sports journalism and have been writing for The Rocket for a while, my multimedia experience is severely lacking. What better way to catch up than taking a class literally designed around the newer, more trendy multimedia journalism?


Over the course of the semester, I hope to wow and amaze with my ever increasing capabilities in design and creation of multimedia. Hopefully, I hope.


In the mean time, let me tell you about me. I'm a senior sport management major and communication minor from Wexford, Pa. by way of Culpeper, Va. and Baltimore, Md. When I'm not in The Rocket office, which is almost never, you can probably find me hanging out with my girlfriend. If not, then I'm watching some sporting event on TV, watching American Dad on Hulu or hanging out with some friends. My not-so-fun fact: I consider myself well-rounded since I am obsessed with sports - literally any and every sport - and fantasy/sci-fi. i.e. Harry Potter, Star Wars, Game of Thrones, etc.


My newer passion has been something that has swiftly and completely captured my heart: journalism. Coming into college as an athletic training major, insane, I know, I never would have expected to find myself as the sports editor for The Rocket. Luckily, I met my future best friend Adam Zook on the first day of college, and over the course of a year, he finally convinced me to contribute for the sports section of The Rocket.


After a trial run of athletic training, which probably could not have not gone any worse, a major change to sport management and a year of contributing for The Rocket, I was elected as the sports editor. I can honestly say it's one of the best things to ever happen to me.


Without The Rocket, I honestly don't think I'd still be at Slippery Rock. The Rocket, and the family I made in the comm. department have completely changed my college experience. The Rocket has given me a purpose and a sense of belonging. What I wouldn't give to have started taking journalism classes in high school opposed to my junior year of college.


While my future after Slippery Rock remains murky, I know that journalism is in my future.


Who knew this would be an emotional journey? Oh, well. Let's keep moving.


A legacy media? Honestly, it's still a bit foreign to me. I guess I'll cop out and pick The New York Times. Dr. Harry wouldn't like it, but I don't read enough newspapers. It's probably something I should work on. I get most of my news and news worthy content from social media and other media sites.


A stand-alone digital media site is easy. There are so many, but the one I've been following lately is The Ringer. The Ringer is a sports and pop culture blog started by former ESPN employee Bill Simmons. Along with interesting sports content with hilarious headlines and insightful writing, The Ringers got me hooked with its coverage of Game of Thrones. Even non-sports people can find good content on this site.


Check me out on The Rocket's website, theonlinerocket, Facebook and Twitter. And, of course, don't forget to check back for more writing and digital media content.


Also, by the way, this will not be a sports blog. I can do more than write about sports. Contrary to unpopular belief.

14 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page